First Glance @Oxford

7 Jan



One look at the Oxford skyline and you’ll immediately know why this city is nicknamed the “City of Dreaming Spires.”  What’s even more breathtaking is to realize that each spire belongs to an ornate structure that has housed students and faculty for centuries.  Some of the oldest buildings date back to the 10th century, meaning most of these stones were laid before the United States was a nation…or even a thought.

As I rode the bus into Oxford the  architecture was the first thing I noticed.  It was beautiful and old and historically authentic, not like the fake Disney World-esque castles the US creates for the benefit of tourism.  This is the real thing.  Welcome to the Old World, baby!

So, upon entering a such a place oozing with history, I did what any trueblood American traveler would do — I started snapping pictures.  Here are just a few of my less-dorky shots, including the one of me standing with coffee in hand in front of the famous Radcliffe Camera, which is (according to my guidebook) one of the “finest examples of a circular library in England.”   Not sure where the camera part comes in, but I’ll have to investigate that some more.

oxoxoxo

2 Responses to “First Glance @Oxford”

  1. Mr WordPress January 7, 2011 at 6:28 am #

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. gasman06 January 13, 2011 at 2:49 am #

    It has been a few years since I wandered around Oxford for the first time, 1988 to be exact. I remember how much I enjoyed the city. Between 1988 and 1992 the family and I made quite a few treks to Oxford.
    Where you are located is a perfect jumping off spot for London or the Cotswalds. Don’t overlook travel in the Cotswalds, they are great. When you go to London for the first time, you might wish to get a day pass on the Underground and head over to Victoria Station. Across the street by a small park you used to be able to get on one of the open top bus tours of London. Get the one with a live speaker not the tape. It will give you an idea of what you might wish to see.
    I hope you continue to post your adventures and pics. There are many things about living in Jolly Ole England that I do miss. In case you don’t know my login, this is Bob Thornton from Warner Robins First Pres. Have a great time and take every opportunity to travel about.

Leave a Reply

