Leavin’ on a Jet Plane – Part I

12 Jan

I could hardly sleep the night before my flight. Thoughts of anticipation and excitement raced so incessantly through my head, it was like trying to sleep through the Indy-500. Thankfully, despite a night of tossing and turning, I maintained this racecar-like adrenaline throughout the next day and evening of my flight. I was absolutely resolved to power through my sleep-deprivation and enjoy this trip, no matter how much airport security tried to suck all the joy out of travel.

 

Still, I have found that general airport experience has an uncanny way way of ruffling even the most well put-together of people. If you’ve ever seen rows of businessmen in suits suddenly forced to take off their shoes, their coats, dismantle their briefcases and all their contents and place it all on a conveyer belt, then march single file through a beeping passageway only to have to find it all again on the other side, then you know what I’m talking about. If you’ve ever had a security guard take away your favorite shampoo on the grounds that it’s a major threat to national security, then you know what I’m talking about. If you’ve ever been harassed by a man carrying a magic beeping wand – (“Im sorry, ma’am but you’ll have to take your belt off…and your earrings…and your bionic leg”) – then you’ve been through airport security and you know what I’m talking about.

 

Seriously, no matter how strategically I attempt to streamline the process, passing through airport security always leaves my luggage, and my temper, in total disarray. So by the time I had run the airport-security gauntlet, I reached my terminal with a flushed face, half an hour to spare before my flight, and a great reason for buying a big bag of chocolate candy.

 

One Response to “Leavin’ on a Jet Plane – Part I”

  1. gasman06 January 13, 2011 at 2:40 am #

    I know exactly what you mean about airport security. With two artificial knees and plates and screws in the right arm, I always get the wand.

Leave a Reply

